Connect Five Friday : Trees

Welcome to my book blog. Today I am celebrating Tree’s in book titles since it’s Arbor Day ! Let’s start our picks with this classic from Mary Stewart ….

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports her readers to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition, and deceit – a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

Sixteen-year-old Lorena Leland’s dreams of a rich and fulfilling life as a writer are dashed when the stock market crashes in 1929. Seven years into the Great Depression, Rena’s banker father has retreated into the bottle, her sister is married to a lazy charlatan and gambler, and Rena is an unemployed newspaper reporter. Eager for any writing job, Rena accepts a position interviewing former slaves for the Federal Writers’ Project.https://www.amazon.com/Under-Tulip-Tree-Michelle-Shocklee-ebook/dp/B085F4YQ11/ref=sr_1_19?dchild=1&keywords=romance+books+with+trees&qid=1619794818&sr=8-19

Children and Cozy Mystery picks :

As The Giving Tree turns fifty, this timeless classic is available for the first time ever in ebook format. This digital edition allows young readers and lifelong fans to continue the legacy and love of a household classic that will now reach an even wider audience. Never before have Shel Silverstein’s children’s books appeared in a format other than hardcover.

Obituary writer and amateur sleuth Eve Mallow is enjoying life in sleepy Saxford St Peter – until a mysterious murder lands right at her door…

USA TODAY Bestselling Author Tonya Kappes is leading the camping craze with her southern cozy mystery series, A Camper & Criminals Cozy Mystery. 

You can read my Arbor Day post

3 thoughts on “Connect Five Friday : Trees

  1. Literary Feline

    I love trees. 🙂 I was an adult when I first read The Giving Tree (although I had read some of his poetry collections as a child). It always leaves me feeling so sad.

    Tonya Kappes is an author I keep wanting to try. Her books sound fun.

    I hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Mary Stewart choice is a great one. Don’t think I have it but would have read it way back. Nice idea for Arbor Day. I love trees and the birds that make their homes in them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s